Sign In   |   Register
Louis P. Jeffrey Award
Share |


Louis P. Jeffrey Award


"Our interest is a commitment to our involvement in a profession in which we choose to serve." - Louis P. Jeffrey


Awarded annually to an Eastern States Conference Preceptor for distinguished service to the profession and commitment to residency training

The Louis P. Jeffrey Award was created in 2004 by the Advisory Committee to honor the career achievements of Louis P. Jeffrey, the founder of the Eastern States Conference.  This year, the award will be presented on Monday, April 27, 2020.

The Louis P. Jeffrey Award recipient will be chosen from a group of nominees submitted to the Advisory Group. Past award winners will also participate in selecting the Award winner.



The late Dr. Louis P. Jeffrey dedicated his illustrious career in hospital pharmacy to the development of young talent and the perpetuation of the nobility of mentorship. Within 6 months after graduating from Massachusetts College of Pharmacy with a Masters degree, he became Director of Pharmacy at Albany Medical Center. In the early 1960s, Dr. Jeffrey began one of the earliest residency training programs in the country and became the youngest president of the American Society of Hospital Pharmacy. He was also a pioneer in certified Pharmacy Technician training and was acknowledged with the Harvey A. K. Whitney Award in 1974 while he was Director of Pharmacy at Rhode Island Hospital. Dr. Jeffrey founded the Eastern States Conference for Pharmacy Residents and Preceptors in 1981. He ended his career in Pharmacy when he retired as President of Massachusetts College of Pharmacy in 1996. Lou will be remembered for his commanding leadership, his innovative practice development, his generosity, and his commitment to Pharmacy Residents and Preceptors.


Nomination Process:

Eastern States Conference Chair will make call for nominations through mail/email to ESC Program Directors and current residents in early in the new year.

Nominations should be made in writing to the ESC Advisory Committee and include as complete a statement about the candidate that include reasons for making the recommendation. All statements should be specific and should avoid use of phrases such as "his contributions are well known to all." Nominations should include an OUTLINE OF PERSONAL/PROFESSIONAL DATA or a current CV.

Nominations will be open to any Residency Preceptor meeting criteria outlined below. If ESC Committee Members are nominated, he/she will be excused during discussions.

Nomination deadline is April 1st.

Award Criteria:

Candidates will have:

·       Practiced as RPD or Preceptor in an ESC program for at least 5 years

·       Demonstrated ongoing commitment to residency training excellence

·       Demonstrated significant past or ongoing contribution to ESC and profession

·       Demonstrated leadership in ESC pharmacy practice

·       High moral character, good citizenship, and high professional ideals

·       Nominations will specifically address:


Specific contributions made to residency training.

Contributions may be in the form of sustained exemplary service; or, outstanding single achievement; or, combination of accomplishments benefiting residency training, and through it, the profession of pharmacy. These accomplishments, achievements, or outstanding performance may include (but not necessarily be limited to):

·       Criteria considered for the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award Recipient

·       Achievements (or contributions) made by residents trained

·       Sustained service and commitment to the ESC

·       Overall leadership and service contributions made to the profession of pharmacy



Selection will be based on ESC Advisory Committee and past award winner discussion and consensus based on weighted support included in nominations.

In the event that consensus cannot be achieved through discussion, the Program Chair shall determine a procedure for determining the Award recipient by vote of the Advisory Committee Members similar to Whitney Award procedures.

ESC Advisory Committee may modify criteria at their discretion


Nominations for the Louis P. Jeffrey Award:

Nominations for the Louis P. Jeffrey Award may be submitted via email to Mark Sinnet.


Previous Award Winners:

2019:  Kevin W. Chamberlin, PharmD, FASCP
University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy
UCONN Health

2018: Jackie Costantino, R.Ph, MBA
South County Hospital

2017: Paul Abourjaily, PharmD, BCPS
Tufts Medical Center

2016: Jeff Huntress, PharmD, BCPS
Highland  Hospital

2015: Leigh E. Efird, PharmD, MPH, BCPS

The Johns Hopkins Hospital

2014: Laura Hobbs, PharmD, BCPS
Hartford Hospital 

2013: Mark Sinnet, PharmD, FASHP
Montefiore Medical Center 

2012: Doris A. Fishman, MS, RPh
Express Scripts 

2011: Evelyn R. Hermes-Desantis, PharmD, BCPS
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital

2010: John Roefaro, PharmD
VA Boston Healthcare System 

2009: Claudine El-Beyrouty, PharmD, BCPS
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital 

2008: Michelle W. McCarthy, PharmD
University of Virginia Health System 

2007: William A. Gouveia, MS, DHL, FASHP
Tufts-New England Medical Center 

2006: Barbara T. Irby, MS
Massachusetts General Hospital 

2005: Gerald E. Meyer, PharmD, MBA
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital 

2004: Thomas E. O'Brien, PharmD, FASHP
University of Rochester Medical Center

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal